NS Chapter of CMAAC - Nova Scotia Acupuncture

(the Chinese Medicine & Acupuncture Association of Canada)


Dr. Diana Tong Li

Left - Dr. Diana Tong Li and Dr. Franklyn Chen (4th and 5th from the left) at the Canadian Conference on Acupuncture and Natural Healing, Cancer-care Conference we hosted in 2011 at the Canadian College of Acupuncture and Traditional Chinese Medicine in Bedford, Nova Scotia.

Right - Dr. Diana Tong Li speaking at the CMAAC 30th Anniversary Celebration representing Nova Scotia

CMAAC 30th Anniversary Celebration attendees

The Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture Association of Canada formed in 1983, in Ontario, to lobby for the regulation of TCM and Acupuncture for the best interests of the public and to protect the good standing of the TCM community.

In 1990 the Nova Scotia/ Maritime chapter of CMAAC (NS-CMAAC) was formed to help establish standards of education and practice in Nova Scotia and the Maritimes. Dr. Diana Tong Li was appointed as its first president.

For over 20 years, NS-CMAAC and ANANS (Acupuncture and Naturopathy Association of Nova Scotia) have been lobbying the Nova Scotia government to legislate the practice of acupuncture and TCM with the full support of the national office of CMAAC and its other provincial chapters.

In 2000 NS-CMAAC met with the Minister of Health and in the the spring of 2006, the representatives of NS-CMAAC made a special presentation to the Nova Scotia Health Department to help educate the government and express concerns for public safety and the need for regulation.

In 2005 and 2006, representatives from NS-CMAAC approached other healthcare professions in the province for support. They met with the chiropractic, physiotherapy, doctors, nursing, massage therapy and the dental associations and obtained letters of support for regulation of acupuncture and Chinese medicine.

In September of 2008, a group of practitioners met with a representative of the Minister of Health of Nova Scotia. Both parties recognized the need for all practitioners and associations of acupuncture and Traditional Chinese Medicine to speak with a common voice. Options for regulation were discussed.

On November 1, 2013 Dr. Diana Tong Li was elected as member of Executive Committee of WFAS (World Federation of Acupuncture-Moxibustion Societies) during the General Assembly as members of the 8th Executive Committee of the WFAS.

Some of Our Members

Andrea McKee
Carole Potter

Dr. Qing Li Murphy

Allyssa deBruijn

Dr. Xin Lu

Sara Lyttle

Nozhat Sadrmomtaz

Dr. Qing Zhang

Dr. Franklyn Chen

Dr. Lana Liable

Sharon Conroy

Oxana Getman

Jun Xian Wang

Sharlene Naugle

Emily Stanley
Xiao Han Li
Gwen Williams

Michelle McNeill

Dora Kinsman (Poole)

Jamie Martin

Angela-Rae Sollows
 Kathleen Crowell

Doreen Linda Howard

Scosha Diamond